RSS

My 1st gig review Simon Fagan18 February 2011

22 Feb

I have decided of late that my blog now will be more directed music from here on in. I have decided that i will go to gigs if and when i can go. So this is my first music review i recently went to see simon fagan and supporting acts performing there at the weekend. So i do hope that every1 likes the review and ahh sure please leave me a comment to let me know how im getting on. Oh many many thanks to my best friend for supporting me and letting me run with the idea of running with the idea of making my blog more music related.   

So just at the weekend gone i managed to go out for a change. Now firstly i have to adit i havent been out in ages and when i got invited to go to a gig i jumped at the chance and went for it. Now i got to go to a very cute little italian restaurant in town they served the most amazing and nice food ever.  I can’t exactly remember the name of the restaurant but i do know that it was off the ha penny bridge there in the heart of the city. So when I had my meal. I headed into the venue to see my gig.

I found this really cute place called the grand social in Dublin and I have to say I was not disappointed to say the least.  The grand social is a very nice cute bar and night club combined. The staff are so so nice friendly and so down to earth. The drinks were not that expensive and going on first impressions here i have to say that place is so so nice. Its got a very nice bohemian feel to it and i have to say that crowd that drink there are really nice as well. I think from my own personal experience of working in the bar trade it’s probably the nicest bar i have been to in ages. There was such a great choice of both local and international beers and wines cocktails as well. 

The Grand Social Dublin

So while i was waiting for my gig to start the staff were friendly to say the least and really did make me feel welcome and put me at ease. So i than went up to the night club part of the of the grand social and i have to say i was impressed. To best describe the upstairs part of the grand social would be intimate and comfy. Nicely spaced out tables and a huge stage to boot really does make the experience of seeing a gig for the first time a really enjoyable experience.  

The lovely Maggie Hillard performing her set.

I got the great pleasure of seeing the lovely and truly awesome Simon Fagan and his supporting acts performing that night. his first supporting act was in the shape and form of a lovely and very sweet and oh so cute irish singer song writer Maggie Hillard. To describe maggies singing style would be for me Laura Marling meets Cathy Davey.  Shes truly awe-inspiring  and her singing is really good. She also did a cover version of dolly partons Jolene. In doing this Maggie got everyone to sing along with her but i was true to form the only person singing along to her and yeah i had fun in doing it.  Maggie did a few other of her own songs and i have to say that i really enjoyed her set. I think if anything Maggie has a true talent and with a voice and stunning good looks to match her talents she will go far. I have to say I highly enjoyed maggies set and i do hope that i do get a chance to see her perform again.

Gypsies on the Autobahn performing their set

The second act that i had the great chance of seeing was a young Dublin band called Gypsies on the Autobahn. Now to describe the band they would sound like the corona’s meet snow patrol.  The band write and perform their own songs.  I have to say the performance was truly amazing and very good indeed. The singer can hit the harmony quite high and i have to say that they were very good in their own right. They played a good set and i would highly recommend checking them out. They are on Facebook and if you type in gypsies on the autobahn and check them out you will not be disappointed at all.

Simon Fagan Performing at the grand social

Now i have to say when i saw the warm up for Simon Fagan it was truly awe-inspiring to say the least. his band set the stage for a truly awe inspiring night. When Simon performed on the stage it was so amazing and very awe-inspiring to say the least.  Now Simon writes and sings his own songs and i have to say i actually found myself humming along to nearly all his songs. To best describe Simons music style would be american style folk meets jazz blues and he had the voice and talent as well as his good looks. I was first introduced to Simons Fagan’s music well a few years back and when i heard his song hired and fired i was truly hooked then.  I think when i heard that song for me it was love at first sight litterly well for me it was when i first heard his music. .  All thru the night he played songs from his new album as well as doing a few cover versions. He did a truly amazing cover version of true colours which was just simply amazing and actually got me all misty eyed.

I think its fair to say the least that i had so much fun at the Simon Fagan gig and i also have to say that Simon has a great and unique talent in working with his fans and making them feel very welcome at his gigs. I think if anything for a first time seeing my favourite singer perform i have to say yet again it was really awesome. I have to say what i also loved about Simons gig was when he was performing the set and when it came to performing his song plastic compass he threw in a good story of his band going to a gig in meath and than getting lost along the way. I just kind of laughed at the that and i did see the funny side of this cute story.  I think that i have to say that i had a truly amazing night Simon Fagan is a truly excellent performer singer song writer and he’s got a bucket load of talent that will go far. I think if anything if you do get a chance check out Simons music on youtube and hes also on myspace facebook twitter. I think my highlight if the night was when he performed my favourite song damn honey. I was even singing along to it and its such a good good song as well.

But what i think what made the night for me is when i got to meet him at the end of the night. Hes so so down to earth and very lovely indeed. Hes got a lot of time for his fans and i even got a photo of him as well.  i think if anything i had such a great time and as far as i know Simon does play abroad and he also plays on his home soil as well. I think if anything if you ever get the chance to see Simon Fagan play i would highly recommend you go and see him. You will not be disappointed at all.

Myself meeting the lovely and awesome singer and song writer Simon Fagan

I should also say that i got the great chance to enjoy the gig with a truly nice and fellow Dublin girl called Angela. Now Angela reviews gigs and she would post them up on irishunsigned.ie. I would highly recommend that every checks out this blog as it will out you in the know of whats going on in the irish music scene as well. I would also love to dedicated this piece to the lovely Angela thank you so so much again sweetheart for such an excellent time and i have to say the craic that i had with her was only 90.  Thanks again Angela for the most excellent time.

here is a link of simon fagan performing damn honey such a great song 🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 02/22/2011 in Music and gig reviews

 

One response to “My 1st gig review Simon Fagan18 February 2011

  1. K8

    06/15/2011 at 10:15 pm

    Lovely review! Sounds electric! I’m glad you liked the staff in there, one of the girls behind the bar is my cousin…I haven’t been in to visit her at work since that place was called Pravda, isn’t that shockin’? She’s organising film viewings now, sounds like a great pub.

     

Leave a Reply

 
